Tumblr

July 11, 2008

Initially, I got interested in Tumblr as a fun way to absorb a plethora of interesting media in those brief moments of “downtime” at work. But Tumblr is useful beyond its simple “distraction at work” element. To quote Wikipedia:

A tumblelog (also known as a tlog or tumblog) is a variation of a blog that favors short-form, mixed-media posts over the longer editorial posts frequently associated with blogging. Common post formats found on tumblelogs include links, photos, quotes, dialogues, and video. Unlike blogs, tumblelogs are frequently used to share the author’s creations, discoveries, or experiences while providing little or no commentary.

I dig it. I don’t need commentary, I just need to know what’s up. And multiple forms of media make this geek happy (remember, this geek is a creative writer/web geek/music & art enthusiast) – making Tumblr a pretty perfect fit, even if it took me a while to warm up to it. Tumblr keeps me up to date with current trends in media – and what’s not to love in that?

Plus, I find that Tumblr is a great way to share that YouTube video you think is hilarious without being the obnoxious co-worker who emails it to everyone in the department. No one wants to be that guy.

Did I mention that Tumblr is ridiculously simple to use? The only thing I found complicated was learning the reblog function (after I discovered, sadly, that there are no comments on Tumblr. Though, if I had read the Wikipedia article on tumblelogging sooner, I would have known that commentary is discouraged in tlogging). Your options for posts are simple: Text, Photo, Quote, Link, Chat, Audio, Video. That means everyone can find something to share. Sharing is so easy, even my parents could use Tumblr! (And I wish they would – I’m sure their posts would be hilarious).  You simply select the form of media you wish to share, upload the file from your computer (or paste the URL from your browser), and post away! Reblogging, once you find the button (hint: mouse over a post) takes one click.  Instant gratification is then yours.

Until my geeky but deliberately un-hip(ster) parents decide to sign up for Tumblr, you’ll have to be content with my updates – http://neongolden.tumblr.com

2 Responses to “Tumblr”


  1. […] – bookmarked by 4 members originally found by vitorCastillo on 2008-08-08 Tumblr https://hipstergeek.wordpress.com/?p=7 – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by espank9 on […]


Leave a Reply

